The Dana-Thomas House is the best preserved and complete of Frank Lloyd Wright’s early “Prairie” houses. Admirers of Frank Lloyd Wright make trips to Springfield to see it. Built in 1902, it still contains the initial Wright-designed oak furniture and art glass doors, windows, and light panels.
Susan Lawrence (1862-1946) is the woman who commissioned Frank in 1902 to redesign her deceased father’s home in Springfield, IL. She lived during a period in history when women were carving out new places in society. As the environment transformed around her, she took several names and performed many roles.
Susan gave the House its life. She used it to display the visual and performing arts, entertainment venue, and home. Like other tourists of her time, she merged reproductions of classical European sculpture and art pieces she purchased on her travels—artwork commissioned for the House by Frank Lloyd Wright.
The Dana–Thomas House is a Prairie School style located along East Lawrence Avenue in Springfield, Illinois. It is also known as the Susan Lawrence Dana House and Dana House and was one of Frank Lloyd Wright’s first major Prairie-style houses. This 12,000-square-foot home has 35 rooms. Furthermore, it has more than 250 art glass doors and windows.
Frank Lloyd Wright created many homes, including famous homes and a mix of other residential and commercial properties. Experience the outstanding creation of Frank Lloyd Wright. Immerse yourself in the beauty and history of the Dana-Thomas house and Susan Dana. The 72nd building contains the largest site-specific, original Wright art glass and furniture collection.
The purpose of the Dana-Thomas House Foundation is to encourage citizen awareness. Citizens should know of the structural significance of the Frank Lloyd Wright Dana-Thomas House Historic Site in Springfield, Illinois. The foundation here also seeks to protect the House by promoting special events, educational programs, and acquiring funds, among others.
Owned by the State of Illinois, it is managed by the Department of Natural Resources as a historic site. Docent-led tours of the House are available throughout the year. The house tours are not wheelchair accessible. Therefore, wheelchair access to the Visitors Center and Sumac Shop in the converted carriage house.
You can experience hour-long tours available most days of the week. It’s prescribed to call ahead before your visit. To have a seamless experience, book the specialty two-hour tours before gracing the House. These provide more insight into the architecture and the man behind it all.
Henson Robinson Zoo
Springfield Tree Service Pros